BREAKING: Oklahoma to Join SEC Starting With 2026 Season

On Friday, the SEC announced the University of Oklahoma and the University of Texas at Austin would join its ranks from the Big 12, starting with the 2025-26 academic year. The move will bring the total number of SEC teams to 16 while the Big 12 will drop to eight.

The shift raises many questions for gymnastics. There will now be nine SEC schools that sponsor the sport, complicating the conference’s straightforward championship format of two sessions with four teams. It also calls into question gymnastics in the Big 12, which will be limited to just Denver—an associate member—Iowa State and West Virginia. The conference could choose to continue to sponsor gymnastics with those three teams, or they could become associate members of another conference or other conferences.

This situation is fluid, and we will continue to provide updates as more information becomes available.

READ THIS NEXT: Clemson, ACC to Add Women’s Gymnastics Starting With 2024 Season

Article by Emily Minehart

Like what you see? Consider donating to support our efforts throughout the year!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.