Head Coach Contract Database

We compiled, through public record requests, coaching contracts for institutions in the Power Five conferences (ACC, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-12 and SEC). Because they will be joining the ACC shortly, current EAGL universities North Carolina and N.C. State are included.

Salaries listed are as outlined in the relevant contract: If a contract outlines salary increases over the life of the contract, the 2022-23 salary is listed. Since variable raises are unknown, those salaries may not exactly reflect pay for the 2022-23 year.

Contracts include a litany of performance-based incentives, hinging on both academic and athletic performances. They also often include bonuses for coach of the year accolades, retention bonuses and provisions for things like athletic event tickets, a vehicle and university-branded gear. We have chosen to highlight significant incentives, especially when they deviate from the rest of the contracts we reviewed.

“Talent fees” encompass appearances coaches make on behalf of their institutions, as well as pay for the universities’ use of their name, image and likeness (on billboards and university promotional materials, for example).

Note: Private institutions (Denver and Stanford) and institutions in the state of Pennsylvania are not included; Pennsylvania exempts universities from sunshine laws. As of the time of writing, California has not responded to our FOIA request. 

NameUniversityConferenceBase SalaryCurrent Contract SignedCurrent Contract ExpiresHighlighted Incentives and/or Notes
Ashley JohnstonAlabamaSEC$175,000.0020222027$10,000 additional talent fee
John CourtArizonaPac-12$115,000.0020222025
John SantosArizona StatePac-12$124,000.0020212025Annual raise up to 15% depending on performance, plus $8,000 in 2024
Jordyn WieberArkansasSEC$150,000.0020192022Pending response from Arkansas regarding Wieber's new contract.
Jeff GrabaAuburnSEC$250,000.0020222027$50,000 bonus if Auburn wins the national title.
Justin HowellCaliforniaPac-12California has not responded to our FOIA request.
Elisabeth Crandall-HowellCaliforniaPac-12California has not responded to our FOIA request.
Amy SmithClemsonACC$155,000.0020222027$25,000 signing bonus; $25,000 retention bonus every June 1.
Jenny RowlandFloridaSEC
$251,116.0020212026$10,000 annual raise, $10,000 retention bonus every June 30, $15,000 additional talent fee.
Courtney Kupets-CarterGeorgiaSEC$205,000.0020222025$30,000 retention bonus on May 31, 2025.
Nadalie Walsh IllinoisBig Ten$160,000.0020212025
Larissa LibbyIowaBig Ten$165,000.0020222027
$10,000 retention bonus every June 30, academic incentives include $1,500 if the Underrepresented Minority GSR is >=60%. Receives a $5,000 if any individual wins a national title.
Jay RonayneIowa StateBig 12$130,000.0020212026
Tim GarrisonKentuckySEC$220,000.0020222026$5,000 additional talent fee. $30,000 bonus for winning regular season or tournament SEC title was the highest conference athletic incentive of the contracts we reviewed.
Jay ClarkLSUSEC$275,000.0020202025$5,000 additional talent fee. Total bonus compensation maxes out at $90,000 if LSU wins the national title and SEC regular season and tournament title.
Brett NelliganMarylandBig Ten$110,720.0020222027Contract was extended in 2022 (initially expired 2025), pending response from Maryland with new base salary.
Bev PlockiMichiganBig Ten$314,570.0020222026$74,500 additional talent fee. 2% annual raise. Only eligible for athletic-based bonuses if APR is "satisfactorily met".
Mike RoweMichigan StateBig Ten$95,931.0020212024
Shannon WelkerMissouriSEC$155,000.0420172022Pending response from Missouri regarding Welker's new contract.
Kim LandrusN.C. StateEAGL (ACC)$104,990.0020212022$30,000 retention bonus paid quarterly.
Heather BrinkNebraskaBig Ten$147,175.0020212024Receives a 5% bonus if any individual wins a national title.
Danna DuranteNorth CarolinaEAGL (ACC)$160,000.0020212024$10,000 annual raise. Receives a $10,000 bonus if any individual wins a national title.
Meredith PaulicivicOhio StateBig Ten$150,000.0020222025
K.J. KindlerOklahomaBig 12$280,000.0020192025$20,000 annual raise. $70,000 annual retention bonus, plus $100,000 from non-restricted funds.
Tanya ChaplinOregon StatePac-12$205,008.0020192027$9,996 annual raise.
Umme Salim-BeasleyRutgersBig Ten$135,500.0020222027$3,500 annual raise. $20,000 retention bonus on May 1, 2024. $1,000 for each individual regional qualifier and $3,000 for each individual conference champion.
Janelle McDonaldUCLAPac-12$135,000.0020212026$5,000 annual raise. $12,500 one-time signing bonus.
Tom FardenUtahPac-12$252,022.0020212026$5,000 annual raise. 4% one-time signing bonus.
Jen LlewellynWashingtonPac-12$135,000.0020212026
Jason ButtsWest VirginiaBig 12$117,000.0020222023Only eligible for athletic incentives if APR >=930.

Last updated: October 20, 2022. Questions? Reach out to [email protected].