Current and Future College Gymnasts to Compete at GK U.S. Classic

The followup to June’s American Classic, the GK U.S. Classic gives elite gymnasts who have not already qualified to nationals—either via previous international assignments or national training camps—a final competition to do so. For those gymnasts who’ve already secured their berths, this meet provides one final opportunity for experience before the national championships in August. Unqualified junior competitors must earn an all around score of at least 51.000 to advance while seniors must reach the 52.000 mark. Senior competitors can also qualify on only two or three events with scores of 27.000 and 39.750, respectively. The event will take place July 20 at the KFC Yum! Center in Louisville, Kentucky.

In addition, eight competitors are also under consideration for the 2019 Pan American Games team: Sloane Blakely (Florida ‘22), Kara Eaker (Utah ‘22), Aleah Finnegan (LSU ‘22), Morgan Hurd (Florida ‘21), Shilese Jones (Florida ‘21), Sunisa Lee (Auburn ‘22), Riley McCusker (Florida ‘21) and Leanne Wong (uncommitted ‘22). The five-member team will be named at the conclusion of the U.S. Classic. 

The gymnasts slated to compete are listed below. We have identified gymnasts who have already been confirmed as qualified to nationals. However, because June’s national team verification camp scores were not released, more athletes may be qualified than those listed.


Gymnast Club College Freshman Season
Olivia Ahern River City   uncommitted 2025
Ciena Alipio+* West Valley Gymnastics School uncommitted 2023
Sydney Barros+* Texas Dreams UCLA 2024
Skye Blakely+* WOGA uncommitted 2024
Charlotte Booth Brandy Johnson’s Global Gymnastics uncommitted 2026
Sophia Butler+* Discover   Florida 2023
Kailin Chio* Gymcats uncommitted 2025
Kayla DiCello+* Hill’s Florida 2023
Addison Fatta Prestige uncommitted 2024
eMjae Frazier Parkettes uncommitted 2023
Elizabeth Gantner Jaycie Phelps Athletic Center Georgia 2024
Karis German* World Champions Centre Alabama 2023
Olivia Greaves+* MG Elite Florida 2023
Mia Heather San Mateo uncommitted 2023
Julianne Huff JamJev  uncommitted 2024
Levi Jung-Ruivivar Paramount Elite uncommitted 2025
Lauren Little* Everest Alabama 2023
Lilly Lippeatt+* Cincinnati LSU 2023
Amber Lowe Everest uncommitted 2024
Nola Matthews* Airborne uncommitted 2026
Konnor McClain+* Revolution uncommitted 2024
Zoe Miller* World Champions Centre uncommitted 2024
Kaylen Morgan+* Everest Michigan 2023
Sydney Morris* First State uncommitted 2023
Annalise Newman-Achee Chelsea Piers uncommitted 2024
Sophie Parenti San Mateo uncommitted 2025
Anya Pilgrim* Hill’s uncommitted 2024
Ariel Posen MG Elite UCLA 2023
Joscelyn Roberson North East Texas Elite uncommitted 2024
Sienna Robinson* Browns  uncommitted 2024
Katelyn Rosen Mavericks UCLA 2024
Lyden Saltness* Midwest Gymnastics Center Auburn 2024
Jamison Sears World Class uncommitted 2024
Chavala Shepard Hopes and Dreams uncommitted 2024
Ava Siegfeldt* World Class Oklahoma 2023
Eva Volpe Pearland Elite uncommitted 2024
Jamie Wright World Class uncommitted 2024
Ella Zirbes Flips Utah 2024
+Junior National Team members
*already qualified to nationals


Gymnast Club College Freshman Season
Shania Adams*** Future Gymnastics Academy Alabama 2021
Simone Biles+* World Champions Centre professional N/A
Sloane Blakely+* WOGA Florida 2022
Jade Carey+* Arizona Sunrays Oregon State 2021 (deferred from 2019)
Jordan Chiles+* World Champions Centre UCLA 2021 (deferred from 2020)
Kara Eaker+* GAGE Utah 2022
Aleah Finnegan+* GAGE LSU 2022
Jaylene Gilstrap Metroplex Utah 2021
Olivia Hollingsworth World Champions Centre Auburn 2021
Morgan Hurd+* First State Florida 2021 (deferred from 2020)
Alexis Jeffrey GAGE UCLA 2022
Shilese Jones+* Future Gymnastics Academy Florida 2021
Emily Lee* West Valley Gymnastics School UCLA 2022
Sunisa Lee+* Midwest Gymnastics Center Auburn 2022
Emma Malabuyo+* Texas Dreams UCLA 2022
Grace McCallum+* Twin City Twisters Utah 2022
Riley McCusker+* MG Elite Florida 2021 (deferred from 2020)
Victoria Nguyen Everest uncommitted 2020
Gabby Perea+* Legacy Elite California  2021
MyKayla Skinner Desert Lights Utah 2017
Trinity Thomas+* University of Florida Florida 2019
Faith Torrez* Legacy Elite Oklahoma 2023
Abigael Vides World Champions Centre uncommitted 2022
Leanne Wong+* GAGE uncommitted 2022
+Senior National Team member
*already qualified to nationals
***qualified to nationals on three events

Live results and streaming coverage will be available here.

Article by Claire Billman

Like what you see? Consider donating to support our efforts throughout the year!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.